When cooking seems more artistic than actually making artistic work.

Perhaps it’s the change of seasons. Or, perhaps it’s because I’m about to get my period. Or… perhaps it’s just that I’m tired of art this week. Either way, I’m much more inclined to throw a sheet of cookies in the oven, stir-fry up some black beans with onion and bell pepper and stuff them in a taco shell, and in general focus on food and cooking more than spending tedious time trying to figure out what the hell I’m trying to say with art. Because the fact is, I just want to eat. And I want to smell things cooking. And I want to see the finished product of those mouth-watering coconut cookies that offer instant gratification with a nice hot cup of chai and a lingering sweet taste in my mouth. Yum. Thank goodness for food when art-making feels laborious. Here are some good (and interesting) cooking instructional videos I found online, in case you want to do the same.

Great Depression Cooking with Clara: Baked Apples. YUM.

Cooking with Dog: Ichigo Daifuku (Strawberry Daifuku)

Cooking for Krishna: Vegetable Spring Rolls and Peanut Dipping Sauce

Mouth watering now. Must digest, and then cook again.

2 thoughts on “When cooking seems more artistic than actually making artistic work.

  1. mazemangriot

    The fall season is my hardest time to create as well. I usually have no problems in the summer and spring. And before I started doing a piece daily would basically take off the fall and winter seasons. Now that I have started to push myself this fall its not so bad.

    Reply
  2. emiliajavanica Post author

    Yes, I think a lot of people struggle during this time of year. It’s something with the changing of seasons, it causes us to question things, perhaps. It also makes us want to curl up and get cozy with milk and cookies and a good book. There is something to say for allowing yourself to take time off and enjoy other things. Not always that easy, though, and unfortunately for me in graduate school there’s not that flexibility. But pushing oneself is good, too! I hope you make wonderful art and have great new discoveries this fall and into the winter. Thanks for the comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

