The Art of Spooky Music

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m currently working on my thesis project for grad school, which is a low-fi horror film titled Red Blob Massacre. It will be a silent film, so sound will play a very large role in setting the mood and suspense/quirkiness of the story. In order to give my sound designer the best idea of what I’m going for, I spent some time today exploring music that I think is inspiring and may contribute to the through-line of the piece.

Please enjoy the few below that I’ve included:

.

Scuba: “The Upside”

.

Tied & Tickled Trio: “Chlebnikov”

.

Clark: “Night Knuckles”

.

I also love the sound for this video, played by the talented Frank Pahl:

(the video itself is also awesome.)

.

And now, your assignment, as an active (or new) reader of my blog. PLEASE! Share at least one song that you find spooky/haunting/suspenseful/quirky/enticing in the comments section below. I appreciate your input, and as much as I love to write this blog and obsess over the site stats, I’d like to get to know you more and what your interests are. AND, it could really help me with my project!

Thanks so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

