Theatre Manifesto from 2002

Back at home for the holidays, I took some time to go through a few things I have stored in my mother’s garage. Within my pile of stuff, I discovered an old binder from many years ago when I was an undergraduate theater student at Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle. Within that binder was my Theatre Manifesto, written for a course on generative theater work around 2002. Surprisingly, it’s not far from where I am today with my art practice. It’s nice to be reminded from times past that I continue to follow the path I carved out for myself.

For your reading pleasure, here is my Theatre Manifesto from 2002:

gremlins-popcorn

THEATRE THAT ASTONISHES

THEATRE THAT CHALLENGES

THEATRE THAT BREAKS THE RULES

THEATRE THAT ENLIGHTENS

THEATRE THAT DELIGHTS

As a theatre artist and performer, I strive to:
-BRING PEOPLE TOGETHER FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD
-EXPLORE DIFFERENT FORMS OF PERFORMANCE
-BE ABSURD
-BE GROTESQUE
-EMBODY BIG, EXAGGERATED, DISTINCT CHARACTERS
-MAKE PEOPLE LAUGH
-MAKE PEOPLE CRY
-MAKE PEOPLE THINK
-BREAK THE FOURTH WALL- CREATE OPEN COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE PERFORMERS AND THE AUDIENCE
-CREATE THEATRE FOR CHANGE AND REFLECTION
-REACH ALL KINDS OF PEOPLE, NOT JUST AN ELITE FEW
-CATCH PEOPLE BY SURPRISE
-COLLABORATE USING ALL DIFFERENT FORMS OF ART
-CREATE IMAGINATIVE, UNREALISTIC, ILLUSIONAL THEATRE
-CREATE WORK THAT IS PHYSICAL-BASED, USING THE BODY AS AN INSTRUMENT
-MAKE THEATRE BECAUSE I WANT TO, NOT BECAUSE I HAVE TO

The don’ts of my theatre:
-NO SHOWS THAT MAKE PEOPLE SIT FOR MORE THAN TWO HOURS
-NO UNORIGINAL THEATRE
-NO CHARGING MORE THAN $15 A SHOW
-NO BEING PREACHY
-NO ARTSY-FARTSY
-NO PRETENSION
-NO STIFF BODIES ONSTAGE
-NO NEGATIVITY
-NO DOING THEATRE JUST FOR THE SAKE OF SHOWING OFF

Image source:
http://blog.moviefone.com/2011/08/15/please-consider-signing-the-movie-theater-etiquette-manifesto/

Leave a Reply

